Cheltenham Gold Cup 2019 guide

Cheltenham Gold Cup 2019 guide

What is the Cheltenham Gold Cup?

The Cheltenham Gold Cup is a prestigious Grade 1 National Hunt horse race, often considered the pinnacle of the jump season. It takes place annually on the second or third Friday in March at Cheltenham Racecourse, on Day 4 of the Cheltenham Festival.

Its official name for 2019 is the Timico Cheltenham Gold Cup Steeple Chase.

The Gold Cup race is run over a distance of 3 miles 2½ furlongs and features 22 fences. Only horses over the age of five with a BHA rating of 130 or more are eligible to enter.

When is the 2019 Gold Cup? What time does it take place?

The Cheltenham Gold Cup 2019 will take place at 15.30 on Friday 15th March 2019, on Day 4 of the 2019 Cheltenham Festival. It will be the 91st annual running of the race.

Cheltenham Gold Cup runners and odds 2019

The final list of 2019 Cheltenham Gold Cup runners will be confirmed on Wednesday 12th March 2019. However, the betting market is already open and you can see the latest Gold Cup odds below.

Name Price Jockey Trainer

Who won the Gold Cup in 2018?

The 2018 Cheltenham Gold cup was won by Native River (5/1) with jockey Richard Johnson and trainer Colin Tizzard.

Native River was the third favourite on the field of 15, behind Might Bite (4/1) and Our Duke (9/2). He crossed the finish line in 7 minutes and 2.6 seconds, beating the favourite by 4½ lengths.

Read on to find out about other Cheltenham Gold Cup winners and the trends we’ve seen over the years.

Cheltenham Gold Cup winners

The most successful horse in Cheltenham Gold Cup history is Golden Miller, with five consecutive wins from 1932–1936. Only six other horses have won the race more than once:

  • Easter Hero (1929, 1930)
  • Cottage Rake (1948, 1949, 1950)
  • Arkle (1964, 1965, 1966)
  • L’Escargot (1970, 1971)
  • Best Mate (2002, 2003, 2004)
  • Kauto Star (2007 and 2009) — the only horse to regain the Gold Cup

Leading jockey Pat Taaffe has four Gold Cup wins under his belt, while leading trainer Tom Dreaper has five. Leading owner Dorothy Paget has seen seven of her horses win the race.

Learn about the Cheltenham Gold Cup winners from the last ten years in the table below:

Date Winner SP Age Jockey Trainer Owner Field Runners-up Time
2018 Native River 6 8 Richard Johnson Colin Tizzard Brocade Racing 15 2nd. ( 4½ L) Might Bite 4/1F
3rd. (4 L) Anibale Fly 33/1
2017 Sizing John 8 7 Robbie Power Jessica Harrington(IRE) Ann & Alan Potts 13 2nd. ( 2¾ L) Minella Rocco 18/1
3rd. (shd) Native River 7/2
2016 Don Cossack 3.25F 9 Bryan Cooper Gordon Elliott (IRE) Gigginstown House Stud 9 2nd. ( 4½ L) Djakadam 9/2
3rd. (10 L) Don Poli 9/2
2015 Coneygree 8 8 Nico de Boinville Mark Bradstock The Max Partnership 16 2nd. ( 1½ L) Djakadam 10/1
3rd. (2 L) Road To Riches 8/1
2014 Lord Windermere 21 8 Davy Russell Jim Culloty (IRE) Dr. Ronan Lambe 13 2nd. (shd) On His Own 16/1
3rd. ( ¾ L) The Giant Bolster 14/1
2013 Bobs Worth 3.75F 8 Barry Geraghty Nicky Henderson The Not Afraid Partnership 9 2nd. (7 L) Sir Des Champs4/1
3rd. ( 2 ¾ L) Long Run 7/2
2012 Synchronised 9 9 Tony McCoy Jonjo O’Neill J. P. McManus 14 2nd. ( 2¼ L) The Giant Bolster 50/1
3rd. ( ¾ L) Long Run 7/4f
2011 Long Run 4.5F 6 Mr Sam Waley-Cohen Nicky Henderson Robert Waley-Cohen 13 2nd. (7 L) Denman 8/1
3rd. (4 L) Kauto Star 5/1
2010 Imperial Commander 8 9 Paddy Brennan Nigel Twiston-Davies Our Friends in the North 11 2nd. (7 L) Denman 4/1
3rd. (23 L) Mon Mome 50/1
2009 Kauto Star 2.75F 9 Ruby Walsh Paul Nicholls Clive D. Smith 16 2nd. (13 L) Denman 7/1
3rd. ( 2½ L) Exotic Dancer 8/1

F = favourite

Gold Cup Trends


  • The words Cool, Cottage, Dawn, Hill, Imperial, Lad, Master, Prince, Red, Run, Silver, and Ten have all appeared in the names of two different Cheltenham Gold Cup winners. The appears in three.

  • Nine winners have a name beginning with M, making this the most successful initial letter.
  • 74% of winners have a two-word name, 19% have a one-word name, while the remaining 7% have three-word names.


  • It might be best to steer away from the more senior horses, because there hasn’t been a winner aged 10 or older since 1998.
  • The average winner from the past ten years is eight. The oldest ever winner was aged 12, while the youngest was 5.

ages of Cheltenham gold cup winners


  • In Cheltenham Gold Cup history, the favourite has won 27% of the time. The average winner’s starting price is around 8.77 (~8/1).

cheltenham gold cup odds

  • If we look at the past ten years, 40% of the bookies’ favourites won. The winners’ starting prices range from 2.75 to 21.00 (7/4 to 20/1), and average out at 7.24 (~ 6/1).
  • The lowest starting price for a Gold Cup winner was 1/10 (1.1), offered on reigning champion Arkle in 1966. That means you’d have won just £1.10 if you’d staked £1 on a single.
  • In contrast, the highest starting price for a Gold Cup winner was 100/1, offered on Norton’s Coin in 1990. That means you’d have won £101 if you’d staked £1 on a single.

cheltenham gold cup stake

Finally, if you’re looking to make money on the 2019 Cheltenham Gold Cup race, give matched betting a try. Premium members can see the dedicated thread in our matched betting forum for all the latest offers and advice.

Start making profits now for free!

About the author:

James OddsMonkey

James OddsMonkey

James' background in IT support and matched betting knowledge is how he's ended up at OddsMonkey updating offer, answering tickets and generally being super helpful.

Share this post on social media:

Looking for ways to make money online?

Matched betting is one of the best ways to make money online, and at OddsMonkey we have all the tools and resources you need to get started. Find out how you can easily turn bookmaker offers into tax free profits today.

Search the blog

Recent Posts