Ashes Cricket Guide

The Ashes 2021 series is scheduled to take place between December 2021 through January 2022. As possibly the biggest series in the international test cricket calendar, the Ashes will attract an audience from around the world. 

What is the Ashes?

The Ashes is an international test cricket series played between England and Australia. It is one of the longest-running rivalries in sport and sees the two teams coming together every two years. Play alternates between the two countries with every series. The 2021 Ashes will be played in Australia. The series is made up of five test matches which can last up to five days each.

Ashes 2021 schedule

The 5 tests of the 2021 Ashes series are scheduled to take place in December 2021 and January 2022.

1st Test: 8th-12th December 2021 in Gabba, Brisbane (00:00 GMT)

2nd Test: 16th-20th December 2021 in Adelaide Oval, Adelaide (d/n – 04:00 GMT)

3rd Test: 26th-30th December 2021 in MCG, Melbourne (23:30 GMT, 25 December)

4th Test: 5th-9th January 2022 in SCG, Sydney (23:30 GMT, 4 January)

5th Test: 14th-18 January 2022 in Optus Stadium, Perth (02:30 GMT)

Where will the Ashes 2021 be played?

The 2021 Ashes series will take place across Australia with tests played in Brisbane, Adelaide, Melbourne, Sydney, and Perth.

Where can I watch the Ashes 2021 live?

Coverage of the 2021 Ashes will be shown on Sky Sports and/or NOW TV. Check back closer to the time for confirmed UK coverage.

The Ashes history and facts


The first series was played in 1877 but it didn’t get its name until 1882. That year saw England lose to Australia at home for the first time. The next day, the Sporting Times published a mock obituary lamenting the death of cricket:

“In affectionate remembrance of  English cricket, which died at The Oval on 29th August, 1882, Deeply lamented by a large circle of sorrowing friends and acquaintances.” 

It went on to say that “the body will be cremated and the ashes taken to Australia”. Ivo Bligh captained an English team shortly after this and vowed to return from Australia with “the ashes”. The term stuck and is still used today.


  • The Ashes urn

The famous trophy awarded to the winner of the Ashes is a small urn made of terracotta. Originally, the urn contained the ashes of a wicket bail which had been burnt to signify the death of cricket. It’s deceptively small considering the size of the event it represents and stands at just 10.5cm high. It was presented to England captain, Ivo Bligh after a friendly match at Rupertswood mansion in Sunbury during the 1882–83 tour in Australia.

  • Australia are the current holders but who’ll take victory the next time the teams meet?
  • Most runs: Sir Donald Bradman (5028)
  • Most wickets: Australian bowler Shane Warne (195)
Start making profits now for free!

About the author:

James OddsMonkey

James OddsMonkey

James' background in IT support and matched betting knowledge is how he's ended up at OddsMonkey updating offer, answering tickets and generally being super helpful.

Share this post on social media:

Looking for ways to make money online?

Matched betting is one of the best ways to make money online, and at OddsMonkey we have all the tools and resources you need to get started. Find out how you can easily turn bookmaker offers into tax free profits today.

Search the blog

Recent Posts

Highest RTP Slot Games

There are several popular games in the world of online casinos. However, arguably the most popular are online slot games, with an extensive abundance of

Read More »